SUMMARY ACTION MINUTES

SPECIAL MEETING ORANGE COUNTY HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION

Thursday, March 24, 2022, 11:00 A.M.



COMMISSION ROOM, FIRST FLOOR 333 W. Santa Ana Blvd. Santa Ana, California

JO-ANNE P. MATSUBA

Chair

JENNIFER S. WANG
Vice Chair
Commissioner

AMY BUCH
Commissioner
Commissioner
Commissioner

M. FAREED FARUKHI
Commissioner
Commissioner
Commissioner

DOT LEACH
Commissioner
Commissioner
Commissioner

DOROTHY O'NEILL

Commissioner

Commissioner

Commissioner

ATTENDANCE: Commissioners Briceño, Buch, Doby, Leach, Lee, Matsuba and O'Neill (all Members participated via Zoom)

ABSENT: Commissioners Farukhi, Kent, Steinberg and Wang

PRESENT: EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Norma Lopez (participated via Zoom)

CLERK OF THE COMMISSION

Jamie Ross & Dora Guillen, Deputy Clerks

(participated via Zoom)

The Orange County Human Relations Commission is an independent advisory body, and our positions do not necessarily reflect the positions of the County of Orange Board of Supervisors.

1. Call the Meeting to Order and Roll Call

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:06 A.M. BY CHAIR MATSUBA; CLERK CALLED ROLL AND CONFIRMED A QUORUM

OPEN FORUM

None

SUMMARY ACTION MINUTES

ACTION ITEMS : (Item 2)

2. Review and reconsider state of emergency under AB 361 and make findings to continue virtual meetings due to the proclaimed state of emergency arising from COVID-19 as required by Government Code subsection 54959(e)(3)

261345789 10 11 xx x x x

C.O. REQUESTED CLERK TO AGENDIZE ITEM FOR 4/14/22, 11:00 A.M., REGULAR MEETING FOR FURTHER DISCUSSION OF MEETING OPTIONS

ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM COMMISSIONERS

Commissioner Briceño – Oral Re.: Questioned screenshot picture at top of Commission website and requested staff to look into whether or not it should be removed. Requested agenda item for 4/14/22, 11:00 a.m., regular meeting for further discussion.

ADJOURNED: 11:24 A.M.

*** KEY ***

Left Margin Notes

1 Ada Briceño A = Abstained2 Amy Buch X = Excused3 Tanya Doby 4 M. Fareed Farukhi N = No5 Michael Kent C.O. = Commission Order 6 Dot Leach 7 Jany Lee Reso = Resolution8 Jo-Anne P. Matsuba Ord = Ordinance 9 Dorothy O'Neill 10 Rabbi Rick Steinberg 11 Jennifer S. Wang

(1st number = Moved by; 2nd number = Seconded by)

/s/ JO-ANNE MATSUBA

/s/

Jamie Ross, Deputy Clerk of the Commission Chair